Home‎ > ‎

Stepping Stones

Origo Stepping Stones is our state adopted Common Core Math Program.

This program is written from the ground up for the Common Core State Standards.

Origo Stepping Stones fosters students’ thinking and reasoning skills.

 Student journals provide meaningful practice for each lesson.    Interactive activities involve the students in their thinking and learning.
 DIfferentiated practice allows students to participate at their level.    Students are able to demonstrate and verbalize their learning.

Why do we need to teach math differently?


FAQ About the Stepping Stones Program

Is the state testing (annual testing) aligned with Stepping Stones?  

Students in grades 3 - 5 take the Smarter Balanced Assessment (SBA) each spring which tests proficiency in the Common Core State Standards (CCSS).  Stepping Stones was developed to address both the content and intent of the CCSS by a team of experts based on educational research.

Is IXL math a separate program from CCSS?  

IXL is a supplemental online program which is used to support individual practice for students in all grade levels.  It is closely aligned to CCSS and provides differentiated practice of concepts and skills.

Do we get any materials/resources for the other additional strategies the teacher uses?

Materials and resources will vary based on your child’s grade level and teacher.  Please have a discussion with your child’s teacher.

Is this program being implemented on the mainland or just on island?  Will this hinder my child if leaving this island?

Stepping Stones is being implemented in schools around the country, not just in Hawaii.  Because it is a CCSS aligned program, the transition for a child should not be difficult if moving to a state that has adopted CCSS.

How will the teachers be grading on the report card if it’s not taught for mastery now?

Report card grades are based on what was taught in the classroom by the end of each grading period.  If a standard was not taught in its entirety, students will only be graded for the part(s) that were covered.  

For example, students in grade 1 are expected to tell and write time in hours and half-hours using analog and digital clocks.  In quarter 1, students learn to tell time in hours.  They will only be graded on that part of the standard.  In quarter 3, students learn to tell time in hours and half-hours.  Students will now be graded on the entire standard.